Tags

, , , , , , , ,

photo_4As you’ve noticed, I’ve been a little absent in the blogging world lately. I do have a very good reason for that … for the past few months, food has not sounded appealing to me. I know, so sad. This is not normal for me, but since I’m pregnant (yep, 15 weeks along now!!) the first trimester was an attack on my taste buds. I have now entered the second trimester, my appetite has fired back up and I’m craving so many yummy things.

Right now, as with my first pregnancy, I am seriously craving tomatoes. Anything tomato: plain, sauce, diced, straight out of the can, pizza, lasagna, spaghetti (with spaghetti squash), etc. Although, I would like to tell you I ate perfectly primal during the first trimester, that is not the case. I definitely had my moments of weakness when a processed saltine cracker, piece of toast or wheat noodles with my pasta was all that sounded appetizing. However, now that I’ve entered the second leg of the pregnancy journey, I am making sure my body and my baby are getting adequate nutrition – and heck, the taste alone of real food is worth it!

Going along with my tomato craving, who doesn’t love a good pizza every once in a while? The only thing that doesn’t love pizza is my body a couple hours later. So, I went on a search to find a pizza dough alternative and came up with quinoa pizza dough. Although quinoa isn’t a staple food for the primal person, it is a good alternative when wheat will not cut it anymore. It took me two tries as the first time I tried to use pre-cooked quinoa (since I already had leftovers in the fridge), but this did not take. The dough was too sticky and did not solidify well. I still got my tomato fix, but had to eat it with knife and fork. However, the second attempt was primal pizza perfection! I got the general recipe here and did a little tweaking of my own.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup uncooked quinoa 
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • fresh pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning or combination of basil, garlic and oregano
  • fresh shredded cheese (I used kerrygold grass-fed)
  • tomato sauce (with a little added salt and italian seasoning)
  • toppings as desired: tomatoes, peppers, meat, olives, onions etc.
  • *** This makes about 2 servings or one personal pan pizza. I doubled the recipe for my husband and I and we were sufficiently stuffed afterwards.

Directions

To do ahead of time: First step is to soak the quinoa for 8 hours. Very important!

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. When the quinoa has been soaked for 8 hours, drain it through a small mesh strainer.

photo

Pulse drained quinoa, water and seasonings in a blender or magic bullet. The consistency should be like that of pancake batter.

photo_1

Pour batter onto a parchment lined baking sheet or pie pan, about 1/2″ thick (I didn’t have any parchment paper so I used well buttered aluminum foil lined in a pie pan). The next time I will make the dough a little thiner as it is very filling! Make sure not to make it too big as you will have to flip it halfway through – another mistake the first go around.

photo_2

Bake pizza dough for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Then gently flip and cook on the other side for 10 additional minutes.

photo_3

Top pizza with additional toppings and bake until cheese is melted. Mine, pictured above, was tomato sauce, kerrygold cheese, lightly cooked onion, ground beef, basil and tomato. As you can tell, I wasn’t going for presentation, but the taste was phenomenal.

Now you can have your primal, gluten free, wheat free delicious pizza – enjoy!

What are your favorite pizza toppings?

