Tags

, , , , , , ,

pancakes

Originally published June 27, 2012

Have given up wheat and grain, but still have cravings for those delicious breakfast treats that you know are really cakes, but can’t resist the nostalgia? Then I have the perfect recipe for you. Or, if you just want some variety in your breakfast, you will love these. These have become our Saturday morning tradition. I even try to keep a few of these in the fridge for my 15 month old daughter as a great on the go snack.

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice (optional)
  • Toppings: butter, berries, walnuts, coconut flakes, honey, 100% pure maple syrup

Directions

1. Heat a skillet until it sizzles when a drop of water hits it.

2. Mix all ingredients together while skillet is heating. I’ve found it’s easiest to mash the banana with a fork first, then add almond butter, then egg.

3. Melt a little butter on the pan and cook like pancakes! (note: it does take a few more minutes to cook than regular pancakes)

Eat them plain or top with butter, berries (I have Costco’s organic frozen ones on hand at all times) or drizzle honey or pure maple syrup on top. This recipe makes about 4 pancakes, so I do one recipe per person eating.

Variations:

I usually add a teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon.

I’ve also made pumpkin pancakes by adding half pureed pumpkin and half almond butter – great Fall treat!

Another trick a reader told me about is to separate the eggs and whip the egg whites until they form firm peaks then fold them in. She said it made them more fluffy like regular pancakes. Haven’t tried it yet, but can’t wait to. Thanks Christy!

 
