Tags

, , , , , ,

veg

I love Vegetable Soup. The fact that I can throw whatever vegetables I happen to have into a pot with some broth makes dinner stress-free. I was surveying our fridge and freezer and realized the only meat we had in the entire house was one pound of ground beef (that’s not like us)! So, I decided to make soup since we had lots of veggies. Here’s what I came up with: (you can use any vegetables you have on hand, but these turned out particularly well)

  • 1 pound of ground beef
  • 4-6 cups homemade broth
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 head fresh broccoli
  • 4 red potatoes
  • 5 medium sized carrots
  • 5 stalks celery
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste

veg soup

While browning the ground beef, chop all vegetables. When beef is cooked through, add broth, seasonings and all of your vegetables. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to simmer and cook for an additional 30 minutes.

This is a great, hearty soup that will not only taste great, but also give you a health boost. I strained out some vegetables and gave them to my 14 month old daughter as well.

Today’s menu:

Breakfast – scrambled eggs, leftover almond banana pancakes from the morning before, 2 slices bacon, black coffee

Lunch – leftovers: bowl of ground beef vegetable soup

Dinner – Tonight was date night – woohoo! We went to a restaurant near us that serves local meat and produce. It-was-amazing. Not to rub it in (b/c dinners like this are few and far between, but when they do happen it is so worth it!), but I just have to copy the descriptions of our food just to show you how wonderful this meal was. For starters we had Smoked Salmon and Trout Spread: Encased with Cold Smoked Salmon and Topped with a Caper Remoulade Sauce, Greens with Red Onions and our House Smoked Bacon. An Autumn Salad: with Mixed Greens, Smoked Gouda, Apples, Walnuts, Smoked Onion with a Curried Pumpkin Dressing. And for my entree I had Duck Two-Ways: All Spice, Cinnamon and Coriander, Seared Moulard Duck Breast and Spice Cured Confit Duck Leg, Red Cabbage Slaw and House Bacon, Sweet Potato Mash, and Cider Syrup. Gluten-Free!

I wanted to take a picture of my food, but didn’t want to be one of “those” people – even though it’s true. I am definitely going to try and make some variations of this meal though! I may not have access to duck, but the rest I’m taking the challenge.

What are your favorite new recipes?

