Tags

, , , , , , ,

alarm clock

I am coming off a 3 night streak with not much sleep. My precious 14 month old daughter who has so far been a sleeping angel decided that she doesn’t want to sleep unless I’m holding her or “sleeping” right beside her. If you’ve ever tried to sleep with a baby or toddler in your bed, you know there’s not much sleeping to be had for the adult. She kicks, squirms and flails her tiny arms and legs all night. Although I’m cherishing these times, I’m ready to get a good night’s sleep. Luckily according to Mark Sisson’s definitive guide to sleep, a nap could be just what the doctor ordered.

People who say they sleep like a baby usually don’t have one.   -Leo J.Burke

Research has shown the positive effects of inducing the relaxation response and even the anticipation of a nap can lower your blood pressure! Following a rough night of sleep (like my last 3), a nap can restore physical and cognitive function. I can attest to this! Even my 45 minute nap today made me feel so much better mentally and physically. While nighttime sleep is obviously ideal, longer naps following a sleepless night can actually include more REM sleep (Rapid Eye Movement: a deep sleep) for better restoration. So, rest up and don’t feel bad about that afternoon siesta.

Meals for the day:

Today, for some reason, I was unusually hungry. I did go on two walks with my daughter since it was nice outside and we needed some distraction, but I felt like I was eating all day. Luckily, I had some good leftover food stocked in the fridge.

Breakfast – 3 scrambled eggs, black coffee

Lunch – A little mixture of leftovers: butternut squash lasagna & spaghetti squash stir fry. I had a second helping of the spaghetti squash stir fry several hours after lunch as well.

Dinner – Random, veggie pile up. We have had A LOT of ground beef lately and while it’s grass-fed beef and I love it, I needed a little change. Tonight, I used our semi-paleo pass and we had “quinoa, black bean, okra, red cabbage and carrot pile up“. Luckily my husband is not picky at all, but this actually turned out pretty good when I added a little sea salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Sometimes you just gotta do what you can – or do what you can with what you have in the fridge/freezer.

