Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

snack

One of the most common things I’ve heard from people when they are giving up wheat and grain for the first time is that they find themselves hungry during the day. Once you fine tune your wheat/grain free lifestyle by adding more good fats and protein to your diet, you won’t need as many snacks throughout the day. However, before you figure out how to sufficiently fuel your body, you may need some things in the cabinet or fridge on standby.

Trail mix is a great snack as it is packed with good long lasting fats and you can add a little sweetness through dried fruit to satisfy that sweet tooth. Here is my ever growing list of primal snack options.

Another quick option to have on hand is the mixture above: banana chips, dried cranberries, and raw nuts. When you buy dried or dehydrated fruit in the grocery store, it’s hard to find them without all the harmful oils such as, vegetable, canola, sunflower, or corn. (See Mark Sisson’s post on the definitive guide to oils for further reading.) After buying food for his camping trip this weekend, my husband came home  with these Extra Value brand banana chips that were made with COCONUT OIL! Because my first batch of dehydrated bananas were on the chewy side and need some more work, I got a little (ok, maybe a lot) excited. I’m not a huge fan of Walmart, but this frugal option is hard to pass up due to the absence of harmful oils and low sugar. Paired with the tangy taste of the dried cranberries and the crunchiness of the almonds, this makes a perfect on the go snack to tide you over until the next meal.

So here’s what day 3 looked like for me…

Breakfast – 3 scrambled eggs, 2 slices of bacon (from the farm) & black coffee

Lunch – As I said earlier, my husband went hiking/camping with his dad and brothers for the weekend, so my daughter and I used the opportunity to do a little shopping on the way to stay with my parents for the weekend. Since I knew we would be out and about yesterday afternoon, I had to plan ahead and pack some snacks for both of us to serve as lunch or tide us over. I put a small baggie of raw almonds and a few dried dates and a banana, just in case. I ended up not being too hungry and just ate a handful of the nuts and dates. Once we arrived at my parent’s house, I had a bowl of mom’s homemade chili.

Dinner – I ate the little bit left of my daughter’s dinner around 5:30pm (some salt/pepper/curry powder spiced ground beef and sauteed carrots, broccoli and red pepper) which happens a lot. Can’t let that good food go to waste! Around 7:00pm I had a big ass salad as Mark Sisson calls it.

To end the night, I had a cup of decaf coffee.

What’s your favorite non-wheat/grain snack? I hope day 3 of the challenge went well for you! You are 1/7 of the way there ;).

