Tags

, , , , , ,

Dehydrator

One of my Christmas presents I couldn’t wait to try out was my Food Dehydrator. Since I’ve never done anything like that before I was a little nervous and read the information booklet from cover to cover to make sure I was doing it right. I started with some zucchini and then tried bananas. They turned out really well! I didn’t season the zucchini at all and they still taste good, but next time I will add a little sea salt to give a little more flavor. They did shrink up to about quarter size, but they are crunchy! I want to try carrots next and have bags full of veggie chips for a quick and healthy snack. The bananas seemed like they took forever and didn’t get quite as crispy as I was hoping. I soaked them in fresh orange juice to keep them from turning too brown. I will keep experimenting and let you know the progress. Next on the list is Beef Jerky!

Zucch before

Zucchini before

Zucch after

Zucchini after

Banana before

Bananas before

bananas

Bananas after – they were a little chewier than I was hoping, but the flavor was great!

Have you ever used a food dehydrator? What are your favorite dehydrated foods?

