Tags

, , , , , ,

pumpkin muffins

I have tried and tried to find an alternative to pumpkin muffins, but they just never come out the way I want them to. They are either too mealy or the flavor just isn’t there. And, they ALWAYS stick to the muffin pan, which is so annoying! Anyway, after trying and searching I decided I would try this recipe from Cooking with my Kids – I mean it’s called Best Ever Pumpkin Muffins – how could I not try it? I have made these multiple times, for my daughter’s first birthday party, gatherings with friends, and a couple batches when we just needed a little something different. Although these do have flour in them (which I don’t suggest making a regular part of your diet), I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, which in my mind makes them SO much better – nutrition and taste – and I used half of the sugar recommended. Another key ingredient is the FULL FAT Greek Yogurt. They really are the best ever pumpkin muffins!

Here is my tweaked version of the Best Ever Pumpkin Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4-1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon (or more) pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 can 100% pure pumpkin
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/3 cup FULL FAT greek yogurt (or I have done half applesauce, half full fat greek yogurt and they were amazing as well)

Mix all ingredients together and spoon into a coconut greased muffin tin (I use a mini muffin tin) and bake on 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Easy and delicious! This makes a great addition to holiday gatherings.

