Tags

, , , , , ,

pic4

I found the recipe for this super easy homemade chapstick out of desperation. As winter is setting in here in the South, my skin is seriously suffering (great post coming on homemade body butter too!), especially my lips. While I was searching for something natural that didn’t have a million unnecessary ingredients, I found this great recipe. During the warmer months, I had been using just coconut oil on my lips and it worked fine, but during these dry winter months, I needed something that would moisturize a little better.

This could not be easier to make and is a great homemade gift for everyone on your Christmas list as it ends up being less than $1 per tube! I made some unscented for my husband and brothers to take when they go camping and added a little orange essential oil for all the girls on my list. I definitely kept a few for myself as well ;).

Ingredients (I got everything from mountain rose herbs, including the containers)

  • 2 tablespoons (1 ounce) beeswax
  • 2 tablespoons shea butter
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • About 15 chapstick containers (I bought 50 from mountain rose herbs as it was cheaper shipping than buying them individually)
  • medicine dropper (can find at any pharmacy)

How to make homemade chapstick:

  • Melt everything together over low heat in a double broiler, bowl over a saucepan with a few inches of water or I used a “little dipper” crockpot.
  • Add essential oils, if using, and stir to incorporate all ingredients. I used a wooden skewer so I could just throw it away. I filled a few containers unscented first, then added the orange essential oil.
  • Fill containers with medicine dropper. You will want to top them off before they harden with a few extra drops as the liquid will shrink as they cool.
  • After they are completely cooled, top them and decorate with labels or tie with some festive ribbon. Get creative!
