Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been waiting awhile to post this because I wanted to test the product and make sure it worked before endorsing something that could possibly give you B.O. Rest assured, we have been using homemade deodorant for over a year now and haven’t had one complaint! My husband even prefers it over his old stand by, Old Spice. Not only does homemade deodorant save you money, but it is so easy to make and only requires 3 ingredients, 2 of which you have in your pantry. It’s also a great arm workout while mixing!

I first started looking into a more natural skincare products when I was pregnant. I was very aware of what I was putting into my body, but to be honest before then, I really didn’t pay much attention to what I put on the outside of my body. Did you know that what you put on your skin absorbs into the bloodstream in 26 seconds?! Conventional deodorant contains an anti-perspirant, aluminum. Aluminum has been linked to Alzheimer’s Disease, cancer and other health issues. It is especially important for women as many people believe the harmful aluminum metals can lead to breast cancer, since the breast tissue extends into the armpits. In my experience, the anti-perspirant which is “supposed” to help with sweating issues didn’t. If I get hot, I will sweat no matter what kind of deodorant I use.

So, on to the homemade part. I got this wonderful recipe from Lindsey at Passionate Homemaking and have not looked back since.

All you need is:

  • 6-8 Tablespoons of coconut oil (solid state)
  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot powder (essentially cornstarch without the harmful talc. I order mine from mountain rose herbs.)

deo1

Simply combine equal parts baking soda and arrowroot powder then spoon in coconut oil. I have found the best way to do this is to take a medium sized spoon and mash slowly (so you don’t spray powder everywhere) until is starts to blend together. You will get a pasty, frosting-like consistency. You can add more or less coconut oil for your preference.

deo2

After everything is incorporated into a pasty-like consistency, I store mine in these glass jars (below) and use my fingers to apply the deodorant. If you don’t like the idea of applying with your fingers, you can take an empty deodorant container and pack it down firmly and use it like you are accustomed.

In my husband’s words, “I do not want to smell like a coconut”, so I also add tea tree essential oil to his to give it a more manly smell. Tea tree oil is also anti-fungal which is not a bad quality for a deodorant. Other manly scents are cedar or sandalwood. You could add lavendar essential oil to yours for a more feminine smell. I like the scent the way it is, so I usually don’t add anything to mine.

deo3

This also makes a great Christmas gift for anyone on your list who appreciates natural skincare products. You can even experiment with different essential oils to suit the person you are giving to.

Stay tuned over the next couple of weeks for more great homemade natural skincare products, including body butter, chapstick & baby care!

Have you tried homemade deodorant or other homemade products?

