Tags

,

It’s hard to believe, but my baby turned one a couple weeks ago. I don’t know if it’s more crazy that she’s one or that I have a one year old?! They say time goes by fast, but man, it really does. It seems like just yesterday we brought her home from the hospital! She is so much fun and I could not imagine my life without this sweet little one.

So 12 months down in primal baby world and you’re probably wondering how she has eaten and if she has had the infamous puffs, goldfish, or candy. In short, yes, yes and yes. She has actually tried all three. Her first ever non paleo food was at a neighborhood get together about a month back and they had a table of snacks and of course goldfish. A dear friend who has grandkids of her own gave her a goldfish and Emma was confused at first and then crunched down on it and thought it was the greatest thing ever. She probably ate 6 goldfish and she was good. There is something to that salty and crunchy food that gets all of our mouths watering. So, I learned that as long as I’m not giving them to her at home, she may have the occasional processed food when we are away from home, but she won’t get that taste for it like she would if we gave it to her on a consistent basis.

As for candy, it’s Halloween time of course. I thought I could escape this Halloween without candy – I mean she’s only one! But, my determined, put everything in her mouth little girl spotted a bowl of candy at a Trunk or Treat party and went straight for it. She didn’t know what it was, but just knew it was a lot of little things she could take out of a bucket. Her eye was on the tootsie rolls as she kept pulling them out of the bucket and once her teeth went through the wrapper, she tasted the sugar and kept grabbing more. Then she chewed through a dum dum wrapper – her first piece of candy – she ate the whole thing.

As she has grown and become more aware of certain foods, knows color and can smell something she does or doesn’t like from a mile away, my “she’ll eat anything” baby has turned a little picky. Although, just two weeks ago, she was stuffing her face with broccoli, lately green veggies are a little harder to get down. I’ve had to turn to more covert efforts. I know that she loves pumpkin and applesauce so I pureed broccoli and kale and I will add a spoonful to her favorites and she will usually eat them without a problem. I have had to distract her with a balloon a couple times in order for her to eat it, but hey, it worked!

Being a first time parent and avid paleo/primal girl, I have learned that I can be a bit legalistic at times. I wanted to say, “my daughter is 12 years old and has never had a morsel of processed food EVER”. Well, let’s be real – that’s quite impossible without being an annoying paleo nazi. So, I am learning balance. I’m not 100% paleo all the time, so I can’t expect her to be. Now there will be times when, because I’m her mom, I will say no to someone offering her some processed food. There will come a time when I will say no to her because she doesn’t know what’s good for her yet. But, my goal is to teach her about food and where it comes from and that what you eat has a huge effect on how you feel. I want her to know that potatoes, turnips, and beets come from the ground and apples, oranges and pears come from a tree. That may sound pretty obvious, but with all the interfering we are doing in our food system, some kids don’t even know the basics. I want to help her acquire that taste for vegetables sauteed in coconut oil or that grass-fed meat that’s been cooking in the crockpot all day. Real food has so much more flavor anyway! I can’t control her, I have to teach her and (once she’s at the appropriate age) let her make her own decisions. It’s the same with life decisions. We are Christians and believe that Jesus Christ is our only Hope, but we can’t force her to believe it. We can only train and teach her like Proverbs 22:6 (a principle not a promise) says, and pray she makes wise choices. Although food choices aren’t the most dire of choices, it’s an important one as she learns to take care of the body God has given her.

Train a child up in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.

