Tags

, , , , ,

{photo credit}

The most wonderful time of the year has already started for me. September through December are my favorite months here in the South. Cooler weather is moving in and replacing the sweltering heat of summer. Fall festivals, apples and pumpkins have shaped my cooking as well. I have added pumpkin in almond meal muffins, lattes, and now chili.

Once the mornings are below 60 degrees, I consider it high time for some soup. This recipe is SO easy. If you have a can of pumpkin, you probably already have all of the other ingredients on hand. A friend (thanks Jenny!) sent this to me last year and I don’t even know where it came from. (Thank you anonymous recipe creator.) I have made it dozens of times since because it is so darn easy, delicious, and yes, it has pumpkin. This makes enough for about 8 servings and is great to have in the freezer for a quick dinner.

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 1/2 onion, chopped (I used red onion, but any would do)
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup tomato sauce (I didn’t have any on hand, but had an 8 ounce can of tomato paste, so I just mixed water with it and whisked it until I had about a cup.)
  • 1 cup or more chicken stock (I used my homemade chicken stock that I had in the freezer. In a pinch you can just use water.)
  • about 3 teaspoons of each – chili powder, cumin, salt, garlic powder and a little cayenne or red pepper if you want it spicy

Directions

  • Brown beef in a large pot.
  • When the beef is almost completely cooked, add the onions and cook until soft.
  • Add the pureed pumpkin, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, stock and spices.
  • Simmer for 10-15 minutes or until heated through and flavors have a little time to incorporate.
  • Top with sour cream, cheese, or avocado.

What are your Fall favorites?

