Tags

, ,

Ok, so I’m stealing a recipe from Health-Bent that I have already made two times in the past week – it’s that good! I also started a little side business where I make meals and sell them and this was the meal of the week. (I’m excited about Health-bent’s new cook book they are working on. I will definitely be keeping an eye out for that.) I’ve simplified a little bit because I can’t seem to leave a recipe alone and because I like things as simplified as possible. I mean, this recipe has 4 ingredients.

With squash in season and on sale at your local farmer’s market or grocery store, there is plenty of reason to start buying in bulk. If you are like us, you’ve tried spaghetti squash a thousand times over and are getting a little bored with it. We love butternut squash and loved the interesting take on lasagna. I thought the butternut squash might be a little mushy when you bake it, but it comes out PERFECT. It even crisps a little on the edges like noodles. If you like lasagna at all, you will love this. My now 11 month old, loves it!

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sized butternut squash
  • your favorite spaghetti sauce
  • Italian sausage (I use about 3 links – with casing removed – for a medium sized dish)
  • 1 red onion
  • shredded cheese for topping (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook Italian sausage, casing removed and red onion in a skillet.

While the sausage and onions are cooking, cut butternut squash into quarters length-wise. Scrape out the middle and using a vegetable peeler, peel the squash of the outer skin. Once it’s peeled, cut the squash in half and cut into planks. They do not have to be perfect at all. (I made 9 dishes to sell this week and I counted peeling and cutting butternut squash as my workout – it’s no joke!)

Now, the fun part. Put a tiny bit of spaghetti sauce on the bottom of a pyrex pan to keep the squash from sticking and start layering the squash (try not to overlap). Next add a layer of sausage and onions, then sauce and so on until you run out of ingredients.

Bake for 45 minutes on 400. IMPORTANT: Let it sit for 30 minutes after you take it out of the oven to let the juices thicken. After you have waited the agonizing 30 minutes – dig in!

This goes great with a side of roasted broccoli or a salad.

