Tags

, ,

I’ve talked about my coconut mocha mid afternoon “snack”/downtime, now here is one way I curb my sweet tooth and relax at night: Pomegranate Green Tea. I got the idea from the family I used to nanny for (and friends), thanks Iversons!

 

Here is how it’s done:

Start with a litle bit of pomegranate juice in your mug. I haven’t tried any other kind of juice, but I imagine cranberry might be good as well. You will figure out exactly what you like after drinking a few times, but I like about 1/4 cup juice. Feel free to add more to yours if you like, I just try to conserve since 100% pomegranate juice is not cheap. I get Langers 100% juice from Costco for about $7 a bottle. It’s also good to add to a tiny bit to a glass of water for a little variety. As I’m sure you are aware, pomegranates are low in sugar and high in antioxidants, which makes it the perfect compliment to green tea.

Once your water is boiled pour the water into your mug with the tea bag (I use Trader Joe’s Organic green tea) and steep for 5 minutes. I don’t add any other sweetener because the pomegranate adds just the right amount of sweetness. This is enough to curb my sweet tooth and give me a nightly boost of antioxidants.

How do you curb your sweet tooth? Ever tried juice in your tea before? 

