Tags

, , , , ,

I’m not one for making too many paleo “sweets” because personally, I’d rather spend time on savory meat and vegetables than baking. And, if you’re on a budget, it’s best just to boot the comfort foods (muffins, cookies, cakes, pancakes) for a while and spend money on the most nutrition for the buck.

However, every once in a while you may want to venture into the world of paleo baking. I’ve found a great recipe that I have already made multiple times because it is so easy and delicious. I got the recipe from Multiply Delicious. Most of her recipes aren’t paleo, but this one is definitely worth a try!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups almond meal (trader joe’s is the best deal I’ve found 1 $4 for a pound)
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 2 Tablespoons maple syrup or honey (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups carrots

Directions

Mix dry and wet ingredients in seperate bowls, then mix together. Grease muffin tin with coconut oil and bake on 325 degrees for about 20 minutes. The first time I used maple syrup, second time nothing because I forgot, and third time honey – I honestly could not tell the difference in any of them, so you could easily leave it out.

What’s your favorite paleo comfort food?

