Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated on our Primal Baby, so I thought I’d give you an glimpse into what a 10 month old Primal Baby eats. First of all, I can’t believe that 10 months has passed – where does the time go?! It seems like just yesterday we were holding her for the first time and wondering, “how in the world are we supposed to be her parents?!”. 10 months also brings more confidence, especially in the area of feeding her. I remember those first few months of questioning everything: “Is she getting enough milk?” or “Is she growing how she should?”. Although I still don’t have all the answers, I know she is growing and loves to eat!

I nursed her exclusively for about 5 months, then I introduced a little formula after the last 2 feedings of the day as it seemed she was still hungry and I had nothing left to offer. It is undeniable that mother’s milk is the absolute best thing you can give your baby. Breast feeding can be extremely hard but I would encourage you to push through. In my experience (and I know every mom and baby are different), the first few months it was a breeze, then around 4 months it got really hard and I had to will myself to keep going. Then it was easy for a couple months, then really hard again. Currently, I am still nursing her, but only once in the morning. I was hoping to nurse her 100% until her first birthday, but for various reasons I wasn’t able to.

From the minute we introduced solid food to her around 6 months, she has been a very good eater. As you know from my previous post on feeding the primal baby, we did not start with the conventional rice cereal. Her first food was avocado. Although, she made a hilarious face of disgust and confusion at the first taste, it only took her a couple of tries before she was eating like a champ! She loves variety and has yet to turn anything down. Her favorite foods right now are red, yellow, & orange peppers, and broccoli. She loves anything seasoned. I think people are sometimes afraid to add any seasonings to baby’s food, but I have found that she absolutely loves different flavors. I mean would you want to eat a piece of steamed, bland broccoli? I’m convinced that why so many people think they hate vegetables is because the only thing they can picture is the tasteless side of veggies that you get in a restaurant. If you cook vegetables the right way (actual butter or coconut oil, salt, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, etc), I don’t think anyone would turn them down! Salt is the only thing you have to watch out for in little ones as their tiny bodies can’t process as much. The occasional dash of salt will most likely be warmly welcomed though!

Common Finger Foods for Emma:

  1. sauteed vegetables with a little coconut oil, garlic powder, and pepper: broccoli, purple cabbage, onion, red/yellow/orange peppers, sweet potatoes, carrots, parsnips. She will usually eat a little bit of whatever we are eating, which is really fun.
  2. Protein: Scrambled eggs, grass-fed ground beef, cut up pieces from a free-range whole roasted chicken, free range pork sausage, and she even had a few bites of steak the other week (she LOVED it by the way)
  3. Fat: avocados, coconut oil (veggies cooked in it), meats above
  4. Fruits: blueberries, strawberries, bananas, apple pieces, dried fruits cut up (raisins, apricots, figs)
  5. Other: almond banana pancakes, paleo carrot muffins

One thing that Craig and I try to make sure we get enough of is leafy greens. We eat a lot of salads, but I’m not sure how Emma would feel if I plopped a big salad in front of her. She would have fun with it, but I don’t think much would end up in her tummy. One way to ensure that she is getting enough greens is by pureeing them with a tiny bit of water and freezing it in ice cube trays. When it’s time for a meal I will take one cube (which is the equivalent of 1 ounce) and thaw in the microwave about 20 seconds, then add about 1/4 mashed banana. I do this about twice a day and she loves it! I have also mixed the thawed greens with yogurt or applesauce. I will give her this along with her other finger foods to make sure she is getting all the great health benefits from the greens.

What does your baby love to eat? How do you ensure that she is getting adequate nutrition?

