Tags

, , , , , , , ,

24 days into the Primal Challenge there are many things I have learned, which I will post in the recap after the 30 days, but one thing is that it does take a little extra income to eat 100% primal. We have tweaked our budget a million ways and cut out unnecessary things like cable to be able to spend more on our food budget. However, at this stage in our lives, we will probably have to incorporate a few semi-primal food items like rice, quinoa, black beans, and the occasional piece of toast to be able to be good stewards of our money. I’ve learned that everything in life comes with balance. We have cut out 99% of the processed foods that we eat, which is huge! So, as long as the other foods that we eat are real, whole foods, I think we still come out on top.

Breakfast: scrambled eggs and sausage, black coffee

Lunch: Emma and I had an errand to run where my father-in-law/ Emma’s GranJoe works, so we had lunch with him. The waitress at the restaurant actually asked (usually they just assume) us if we wanted rolls and we politely refused, no fuss at all. I had a cobb salad which was pretty tasty.

Craig had tuna salad with homemade mayo and mixed greens. Emma actually ate the leftover Indian stir-fry from the night before. She is getting to where she just wants to play in her food rather than eat it, but judging by the amount she did actually eat, I would say she enjoyed it.

I had my afternoon treat while Emma was napping, which I’m really starting to enjoy – Coconut miso. That’s what I’m calling it anyway. At starbucks they have the Soy Miso which is half coffee and half soy milk. Since I can’t do soy milk (not just because it’s not primal, but it really messes my stomach up!), I’ve come to love half coconut milk, half coffee. It’s my time to catch up on the blog and relax.

Dinner: Baked chicken with Guacamole pepper poppers and sweet potato fries

Gaucamole pepper poppers

I got the idea for this recipe from a picture that I saw on a new blog I found called health-bent. We had some peppers from my granddad’s garden so I wanted to put them to good use. I didn’t have any bacon on hand, but I’m sure they would of course be an amazing addition.

Ingredients

  • 4-5 small sweet baby peppers
  • 1 avocado, mashed
  • juice from 1 lime
  • garlic powder
  • sea salt & peppers
  • cilantro

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Cut peppers (I used about 4) in half lengthwise and cut off the stem and remove seeds and white membrane. Place the peppers in the oven on a baking sheet for about 10 minutes, or until tender. Then fill with the guacamole mixture. And if you have bacon on hand, you should definitely top with bacon, although they were delicious without it.

