Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was first introduced to spaghetti squash as an alternative “noodle” with spaghetti. Spaghetti squash is so easy to cook and you can add anything to it like you would a pasta.

To cook the spaghetti squash you simply cut it in half, lengthwise, and scrape out the insides. Put about an inch of water in a baking dish and place the cut spaghetti squash face down. Bake in the oven on 350 degrees for about 30-45 minutes depending on your oven. The squash is done when you can take a fork, starting from one side and scrape down the sides and it forms “spaghetti-like” noodles. You can add anything you would to normal pasta. Here is one combination that is very tasty!

Ingredients

spaghetti squash noodles

1 pound ground beef or ground turkey

salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin

greens cooked down (I used mustard greens cooked in coconut oil) You could use kale, spinach, turnip greens, mustard greens, etc.

sun-dried tomatoes

peas (optional, I just had some frozen ones on hand that I needed to use)

Directions

1. Cook ground meat and place to the side with spaghetti squash. I added the spices when I cooked the meat; about 1 teaspoon of each.

2. Sautee greens by placing them in a pan with a little coconut oil or olive oil until they are wilted and soft. About 10 minutes.

3. Once spaghetti squash, meat, and greens are all cooked simply mix together and add sun-dried tomatoes and peas.

Quick Tip: Whenever I buy spaghetti squash I go ahead and cook it and put in the fridge for an easy meal later in the week.

