Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After “cheating” on day 17, I started thinking well maybe I’ll just change the challenge to 15 days and say we did it! I think it would be easy to give up after having one little ice cream. If we did that, then we would be saying that we know will never be perfect so it’s not even worth trying – and we aren’t THAT pessimistic! So, day 18 for me, involved one slice of bread at lunch, but I’m committed to finishing this out. It has already changed the way I will think about food in the future. I do feel better when I eat things that I know my body needs and don’t eat the things I know my body doesn’t like.

So, day 18 looked like this: and yes, there is a chocolate chip cookie recipe at the bottom 😉

Breakfast: scrambled eggs & black coffee

Lunch: My good friend and her little boy (only 11 days younger than Emma) came to visit and we went to our new favorite lunch spot downtown and had a cup of tomato basil soup each and split a turkey sandwich. It was such a great time of catching up, tending to our little ones who were adorable, especially together. It was not about food, it was about the company.

Dinner: beef patties (cooked on the stove) & a little quinoa topped with fresh kale and red onion.

Ok, so you’re probably wondering, ‘So when is she going to talk about those cookies?’. We are going out of town this weekend and having some people over Sunday night, so I went ahead and made a few batches of these Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies. I don’t bake much because (1) I don’t have the patience for it (2) I’m not precise enough or a perfectionist in the slightest to get it right every time (3) since we don’t eat wheat, I just don’t want to mess with it (4) probably the biggest reason – because my self control is not great. If sweets are laying around, I will eat them, all of them. However, there are times when a girl just wants a cookie. (I think I said the same thing about ice cream in the previous post, oops) So when you are striving to eat healthy and cut out wheat and sugar, where do you turn for a healthy “cheat”?

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups almond meal (I have gotten mine at Trader Joe’s in the past. However, since there is sadly not one where we live now, I will probably order online)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 stick butter

1/8 – 1/4 cup brown sugar (I used 1/8 cup the first time I made them and they were plenty sweet)

1 egg

2 tsp vanilla

Chocolate chips

Directions

Could not be easier. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix dry ingredients together in medium sized bowl. Cream butter and sugar then add egg and vanilla. Mix dry and wet ingredients together spoon onto a cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes. The result is a chewy cookie that is very similar to “the traditional cookie”. These are perfect with a small cup of coffee!

