This weekend, via Mark Sisson, I found yet another reason to know exactly where my meat comes from. Because of the drought across the country, corn prices are skyrocketing. So where do farmers turn? Candy. That’s right, I said candy. Not only are the cows in horrible living conditions, they are now being fed CANDY! (I’m trying to control myself here.) A quote from the owner of Mayfield’s United Livestock Commodities: “Just to be able to survive, we have to look for other sources of nutrition.” Candy = nutrition? The author of the article said that he is having to “tweak the recipe for success”. I’m sorry, but since when did cows start eating “recipes”. I’m pretty sure they were designed to eat grass.

Here is the link with a video to watch for your viewing disgust pleasure: http://mw.theweathernetwork.com/index.php?product=topstories&pagecontent=storm_watch_stories3&stormfile=Rancher_turns_to_candy_for_a_sweet_solution_to_high_feed_prices_16_08_2012&ref=twitternews

What can you do to combat this nonsense? Ask questions. Know where your meat comes from. We the consumer are the ones setting the standard. Wouldn’t you much rather pay a little more for your meat than eat meat from cows that have been fed gummy worms?

