Tags

, , , , , ,

We are half way there! Here is a health update:

From Craig – “I have not taken my medicine for Psoriatic Arthritis [it’s a self-injectable, pretty high power stuff] in about 2 1/2 months. I am feeling mild symptoms of psoriasis, but zero arthritis pain. I am praying that my x-rays and blood tests show the same results in a month. Mentally, I feel good about what I eat and have found it’s pretty easy to say no to things. I think I will eat much more strictly down the road. Combining exercise has been good. I have been working out regularly and feel great. I am seeing my fitness level increase. I’m not Hugh Jackman ripped yet, but I’ll let you know when I get there. [His workouts include light 15 minute jogs, sprints, squats with rocks overhead, push-ups, etc. We live in the mountains so he takes advantage of the heavy things around us. :)] My energy levels are high and I don’t daze out as often at work.”

Hannah – I honestly have not been getting much sleep the past couple of weeks because we have been on the go so much (and – confession – we’ve been addicted to a tv show), so that has made me very tired. I can tell a difference when I’m not hydrating properly. Keeping up with a baby, I have to be intentional about drinking water because I will easily forget. My experimentation with almonds has shown me that I might be allergic or at least sensitive to them. My stomach always feel bloated and I get really tired after I eat them.  Bummer! I was actually talking to a friend about that the other day because she said they do the same thing to her. I want to try and start using coconut flour and possibly coconut butter instead of the almond products. I have been working out a little more regularly. I go on walks around our neighborhood, which is really hilly, and do squats, push-ups, and planks.

Breakfast: scrambled eggs in coconut oil, coffee

Lunch: Huge salad with basil, tomato, red onion, 1/2 avocado and homemade ranch dressing. I also had some leftover liver and onions from several nights ago to get in some protein.

Dinner: Spaghetti squash with mustard green, sun-dried tomato, peas, and ground beef. I love spaghetti squash because you can use it like pasta and add all your favorite veggies for a great side or add in some ground beef, turkey, or sausage to make it a hearty stand alone meal. My 10 month old ate this as well for dinner ground up in the food processor a little. She loved it!

What are some of the results you have seen in cutting out wheat and sugar? What has been the hardest thing?

