One of my favorite meals growing up was spaghetti. Only my mom’s would do. Her spaghetti sauce is still my favorite. But cutting out wheat, I had to say goodbye to the noodles and I thought to spaghetti all together, until I discovered spaghetti squash. This squash looks and with a crunchier taste, functions just like noodles. You can try it countless ways, but this new way is my current favorite. Spaghetti squash, tomato, hot sausage (or ground beef) with a creamy coconut milk and avocado sauce = interesting & delicious. I found this recipe on pinterest and wanted to spice it up a little bit to make it a stand alone, hearty meal. I also needed to use some avocados since I found them on sale and bought 10!

Ingredients

1 medium sized spaghetti squash

1/2 – 1 can coconut milk (full fat), I used the whole thing, but the original recipe called for only 1/4, but I found that it was way too thick and not blending well.

2 avocados

Juice from 1 lime

3 cloves of garlic

salt/pepper to taste

1 can diced tomatoes

1/2 pound hot sausage (or ground beef)

Directions

1. Halve spaghetti squash and dig out seeds and middle. Put 1-inch water in a glass pan and place halved spaghetti squash face down. Cook for about 30-45 minutes on 350 degrees.

2. Cook the sausage (or ground beef) and set to the side.

3. Scrape coconut cream off the top of the can of coconut milk (and save for peaches and cream!). While spaghetti squash is cooking, blend the next 5 ingredients together until thick and creamy.

4. Once spaghetti squash is soft and the flesh in the middle can be raked out with fork, take a fork and scrape out the “noodles” of the squash.

5. Place spaghetti squash on a plate and top with creamy avocado sauce, tomato and sausage or ground beef.

And there you have tasty Primal Spaghetti!

