Tags

, , , ,

We have made it a full week! A huge milestone for us – 1/4 of the way there! No sweets, added sugars, wheat, grains, legumes, alcohol, corn or highly processed foods. So far, I can’t really tell a huge difference in how I feel. I had a couple days where I did not feel so well (tired and ravenously hungry) and didn’t eat enough fat and protein at a meal, so I’m still tweaking that and trying to find the right balance for me. I have noticed that I need to drink more water, get more sleep and exercise regularly. So, for the next 3 weeks, I will concentrate on those three things. As for Craig, his energy levels have been very consistent with no mid afternoon crashes. He has been exercising regularly  He also hasn’t taken his arthritis medication in almost 2 months, so we will see!

Breakfast: eggs & bacon. We got some awesome free range, organic bacon from the local farm – amazing.

Mid-morning snack: Some of my husband’s family was in town from up north and we went to visit at Granny’s. And you know at Granny’s you have to eat something! We had a mid morning snack of incredible chicken salad with lettuce and a few almonds.

Lunch: My family came up for the day. We’ve loved having so many visitors! We reheated some leftover burgers from the night before (sans buns, obviously) with cabbage, broccoli, peppers, and sweet potato sauteed in coconut oil.

Dinner: We weren’t too hungry since we had a later lunch so I just scrambled up a few eggs with avocado slices and a little salsa. I also had a spoonful of freshly ground almond meal with a small apple.

Stay tuned!

