Tags

, , , ,

Day 5 proved to be the hardest day yet. There were about 10 times today that I wanted to cave in, not even in a dairy queen blizzard kind of way, but in a slice of cheese, or piece of toast kind of way. Basically, I went to the grocery store for the first time since our challenge AND didn’t have a very hearty lunch, so this girl was hungry! After scouring every shelf in search of something primal challenge approved I came up with the best option I could find – Terra sweet potato & carrot chips. They are of course tasty, but made with canola and/or sunflower and/or safflower seed oil (yikes!). About 30 minutes later, no lie, I felt like I had a lump in my stomach and I was very bloated. So, now I know what those oils do to me. If you are following the Whole30, they might say that your 30 day challenge is over, but for me, we are still rolling. It was a semi-cheat, but not a cake, bready sandwich, cereal, or pasta kind of cheat. So, here’s what we ate today…

Breakfast: We had … wait for it … sausage for breakfast this morning! We changed it up a little from our usual scrambled eggs, mainly because we ran out. I used the last two in the eggplant fries. Plus, two eggs would just be enough to make us mad anyway.

Lunch: I had 1/2 sweet potato with a tablespoon of coconut oil, cinnamon, & sea salt with a mixed green salad with my lime & olive oil dressing. I had been needing to go to grocery store for a few days and didn’t have any meat to put alongside my meal. A few hours later, I could tell that I was missing the protein because I got ravenously hungry, hence my indulgence of sweet potato chips. Word of advice – always have a protein with your meals, even if it’s not a lot.

Dinner: Spicy Baked Chicken DrumsticksI just found a great website with lots of paleo meals: www.paleodietlifestyle.com. I like it because there aren’t too many random ingredients that you don’t have. So for dinner we ended up just having about 2 1/2 drumsticks each – very filling and delicious!

