Tags

, ,

After watching the 60 minutes video on “Is sugar toxic?” and stocking my kitchen with good food, I am motivated to start the 30-day primal challenge! I think it’s important to start off with good perspective. Anything that I’ve ever done I’ve always been really excited in the beginning and then as time goes on my excitement slowly decreases and I question why I am doing whatever it is. With this 30 day challenge, I am starting out trying not to think too much about it or get too excited. And especially not to focus on the food, but just enjoy the day.

I got up around 7am and my daughter didn’t wake up until 8am (bonus!) so Craig and I had some time to eat breakfast together. For breakfast we had 6 eggs with sauteed onion, salt, pepper, & garlic powder (that was total, not 6 each! I usually cook them in kerrygold grassfed butter, but since that’s out for 30 days, I used about 1 teaspoon of coconut oil – with this small amount I couldn’t really taste the coconut) and black coffee.

11:45am I started getting a little hungry so I began to get my lunch ready while Em was still sleeping. I made a spinach salad with red cabbage, 1/2 avocado, 1 tomato, and some chicken I pulled off of a whole chicken I made over the weekend. For dressing I used balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and a little salt & pepper. This was a big salad, covering a large dinner plate – very filling. I did not get hungry until around 5:30pm, but drank some water and decided to wait on dinner until Craig got home.

For dinner I made a recipe that I love from Katie at wellnessmama. She calls it Beef and Zuchinni Skillet. I usually put a little mozerella cheese on top, but this time we just put a little homemade tomato/pasta sauce and it was great!

I jumped into temptation head first as I met a friend for coffee at starbucks, but I just got a hot tea (with no honey, which would be my usual) and just enjoyed the conversation instead of making it all about the food or drink.

1 down 29 to go! I’m not making any promises on the elaborateness (is that a word?) of the meals, but I will tell you what we had and it will be within our set guidelines.

