Here’s a little motivation for you before you go to the grocery store to shop for the 30-day Primal Challenge or if you just want to learn a little more, here’s a little food for thought: http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=7417238n&tag=contentMain;contentAux It’s a CBS 60 minute video called “Is sugar toxic?”. I highly encourage you to watch it!

We are about to start our 30-day “primal purge”, as my husband fondly named it (he’s actually really excited about it), and grocery shopping is at the top of my worry/panic list.  We are definitely on a budget and also live 15 minutes from the nearest grocery store. That’s still REALLY far for me (1) compared to the big city we lived in just 3 months ago and (2) with a 9 month old baby who doesn’t necessarily have a love relationship with her carseat. That being said, getting everything I need in one or two trips a week is crucial.

Here is a list of things I have on hand for week 1 of our 30-day Primal Challenge.

Meat – Again, not so much worried about grass-fed, free-range, or organic for this 30 days.

LOTS of vegetables – spinach, mixed greens, kale, zuchinni, squash, sweet potatoes, turnips, beets, carrots, broccoli, peppers, cabbage, brussel sprouts, asparagus, butternut squash, green beans, parsnips, well you get the point.

EGGS – This is our staple food!

Some Fruit

Coconut Oil – I cook everything in coconut oil, especially since we can’t use butter for the 30 days.

Olive Oil

Balsamic Vinegar (check the label for sulfites! I found that the one I’ve been using for 2 years has sulfites … oops)

Lemons/Limes – great for salad dressings with a little olive oil. My favorite is lime, olive oil, cilantro, salt & pepper (top the salad with avocado, red onion, and tomato, yum!).

Avocado – great on top of salads or eat plain with a little sea salt & pepper. There’s even a recipe I saw on pinterest for baked avocado with egg, interesting.

Nuts – raw almonds (I roast them for 10 minutes on 350 = perfect) & cashews. I buy these in bulk from Costco – thanks Melissa!

Almond butter – Slice bananas and put almond butter in between and freeze – amazing.

Water – this one is free!

Day One starts tomorrow …

