Tags

, ,

We are all familiar with the common tuna salad and depending on your taste have a love or hate relationship with it. I happen to have a love relationship with tuna salad and would actually make it quite often even as a teenager as a snack. As I’ve grown older, I would like to think my taste buds have matured, which is a small part of it, but I think I just became aware of salmon in a can. 🙂

I found a great brand at Costco called Bear & Wolf, 6 6-oz cans for about $12. It is wild caught Alaskan salmon and always tastes fresh. I love to put it on a bed of greens with balsamic vinegar and olive oil for a light fresh lunch. I also use this canned salmon in my bacon wrapped salmon cakes (recipe coming soon – so good!).

Ingredients

1 can of wild caught salmon

full fat plain yogurt (I use greek yogurt, but I’m sure regular would be fine too)

onion powder, garlic powder, salt & pepper – to taste

Directions

Mix just enough yogurt in with the salmon to make it stick together. Add your spices; I usually just taste it along the way until I have the perfect combination.

Cost: $ At about 2 dollars a can for the salmon + the greens, this meal could easily be under a few bucks.

Time: Under 5 minutes

Nutrition: As I’m sure you know salmon is a great source of omega-3 fatty acids. It is about half fat and half protein to keep you full all afternoon. It is also very high in calcium, phosphorus (main function is the formation of bones and teeth), and selenium (makes special proteins called antioxidant enzymes, which help prevent cell damage). The dark leafy greens provide calorie for calorie, provide the most concentrated nutrition of any food. So, eat away!

